16 Stops For The Traveling Suitcase~ Small Business Saturday 2013

The Traveling Suitcase hits the streets on Small Business Saturday to SHOP SMALL!

It was a beautiful day, as I wandered around downtown Auburn to check out the shops.

Suitcase in hand, I made it around to 16 shops!

Unique Pieces had treats to snack on while shopping.  I love their windows hanging from the tall ceilings.  I snuck a peak in the work room to see the latest projects in the working!

Wow, I sure spotted Country Lane General Store with their bright Holiday Window Décor!  The Décor spreads through the store.  I didn’t suspect it walking in, but over 70 merchants are in the store! Talk about getting some people crossed off the Shopping list! There is something for everyone!

I headed around the block to Like Yesterday to see what’s “new”!  Like Yesterday is all about vintage finds and repurposed and refurbished furniture and décor! It’s amazing what neat items they have created while at the same time being very beneficial to our environment!  They are truly GREEN!

I had to set The Traveling Suitcase down for a moment as I enjoyed a cookie from the Cookie Nook. Yum, great treat!

My stop to Moe’s Bikes & More made me think, maybe I need to invest in a bicycle to get around faster to all the great tourist attractions in DeKalb!

It felt great to SHOP SMALL as I stopped by The Olive Twist for some Olive Oil plus a handmade apron.  Across the hallway at Peekers, home for unique gifts, I realized I could cross off a lot of people on my Holiday Shopping List.

I continued on to Little Sprouts Children’s Clothing Boutique, where I met the new owner, Erin Thiele and across the street I learned B’Dazzling Boutique has new fashions arriving weekly!

I tried to sneak The Traveling Suitcase into Carbaugh Jewelers’ window display- as I caught them in the middle of decorating for the Holiday “Deck the Windows” contest that many of the downtown businesses are participating in. They’re all so festive!  I am not sure who I will vote for yet!

Lyn-Maree’s Boutique has so many stylish accessories! Did you know that you can even book a private shopping party there? While shopping there, I registered to win a free purse and found out today I had won!

Walking into Possibilities shop with all the bright colors and vintage painted furniture immediately puts me in a cheerful, creative mood where I want to find just the right piece for someone on my shopping list.  “Old Stuff, new stuff, fun stuff”… it’s a great shop!

Across the street at Auburn Artifacts LLC I was informed The Traveling Suitcase may have been worth money, until it was painted on!  I learned the shop has many vintage finds plus does auctioneering and more!

Well, for the “Deck the Windows” contest I have my vote in mind… The Sprinkling Can Floral and gift shop has a beautiful display which carries throughout the whole store.

Next stop, Blue Fruit Jar Antiques seems like it will be a quick stop but I discovered the shop goes on and on and even overflows into a basement filled with treasures!

My last stop was to Etagere a new antique Mall to Auburn.  I couldn’t set my suitcase down long, it blended in with the many vintage items and someone may have mistakenly tried to purchase it!

See more photos: Flickr

I didn’t make it around to all the shops in Auburn, but eventually I will.   So, follow along while The Traveling Suitcase and I journey onto more shops in Auburn and then venture on through DeKalb County for even more great shopping!

Visit DeKalb County- Shop Small – Support Small Businesses

 

 

 

 

About Visit DeKalb County

Welcome to the official blog of the DeKalb County Visitors Bureau. Nestled in the North East Corner of Indiana are ten communities that all share a common bond. And that bond is DeKalb County. Our job at the DeKalb County Visitors Bureau is to showcase all of the experiences the county has to offer and one of the many ways we do that is by blogging. Each of our blogs tells a different story of DeKalb County and we hope that by sharing these stories and events it will encourage people from all over the world to visit the place we call home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 16 Stops For The Traveling Suitcase~ Small Business Saturday 2013

  1. Cindy Shay says:

    Can’t wait to see where the suitcase heads to next!!!

Leave a Reply

